



GREATER FARALLONES NATIONAL MARINE SANCTUARY ADVISORY COUNCIL MEETING

Thursday, May 26, 2022 9:00AM – 3:00PM PT

Red Barn Classroom, Point Reyes National Seashore 75 Bear Valley Road, Point Reyes Station, CA 94956 AGENDA

Time	Topic	Lead
9:00-9:10	Welcome, Roll Call, Review Agenda	Abby Mohan, Chair
9:10-9:40	Sanctuary Advisory Council Business - Approve February Meeting Highlights (Action Item) - Swear in new members - Summer recruitment and preliminary review panel - Vessel Incidents Subcommittee update	Abby Mohan, Chair Jordan Gorostiza, Council Coordinator
9:40-10:00	Office of National Marine Sanctuaries (ONMS) Priorities	John Armor, ONMS Director
10:00-10:30	Coastal Resilience: Sediment Management Report Update	Max Delaney, GFNMS/CBNMS
10:30-11:00	Bolinas Lagoon Restoration Update	Wendy Kordesch, GFNMS/CBNMS
11:00-11:10	BREAK	
11:10-11:40	Kelp Restoration Program Update	Rietta Hohman, GFNMS/CBNMS
11:40-12:00	Overview of ONMS 50th Anniversary Activities	Jennifer Stock, GFNMS/CBNMS
12:00-12:10	Public Comment	
12:10-1:10	LUNCH (provided to advisory council and GFNMS/CBNMS staff)	
1:10-1:40	Greater Farallones and Cordell Bank National Marine Sanctuaries Superintendent's Report - Budget - Department of Commerce Return to Office Notice - Vessel Speed Reduction: 2022 Season - Program updates - Condition Report and Management Plan Review Schedule - Discuss future joint meetings with the CBNMS Advisory Council - Permit matrix	Maria Brown, GFNMS/CBNMS Superintendent
1:40-1:55	Sanctuary Enforcement and Response Update - American Challenger destruction - Singapore dead in the water vessel	Max Delaney, GFNMS/CBNMS Kynan Barrios, NOAA OLE Chris Bell, USCG
1:55-2:05	Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary Superintendent's Report	Lisa Wooninck, MBNMS Superintendent
2:05-3:00	Member and Alternate Reports	
3:00	WRAP UP & ADJOURN	

The Advisory Council may take action on any of the above items on the agenda. Times of agenda items are subject to change. Public comment period will remain as advertised.

Meeting documents available at https://farallones.noaa.gov/manage/sac_meetings.html.





NON-GOVERNMENT SEATS

Commercial Fishing

Barbara Emley (Secretary)/Primary

Sarah Bates/Alternate

Community-at-Large San Francisco/San Mateo

Vacant/Primary

Kris Lannin Liang/Alternate

Community-at-Large Marin

George Clyde/Primary Richard James/Alternate

Community at-Large Mendocino/Sonoma

Cea Higgins/Primary

Michael Kleeman/Alternate

Conservation

Francesca Koe/Primary Kathi George/Primary

Richard Ogg/Alternate

Vacant/Alternate

Education

Bibit Traut (Vice Chair)/Primary

Mary Miller/Alternate

Maritime Activities - Commercial

John Berge/Primary

Julian Rose/Alternate

Maritime Activities - Recreation

Abby Mohan (Chair)/Primary

Vacant/Alternate

Research

Jaime Jahncke/Primary

Ellen Hines/Alternate

Youth

Ezra Bergson-Michelson/Primary

Owen Youngquist/Alternate

GOVERNMENT SEATS

California Department of Natural Resources

Mark Gold/Primary

Michael Esgro/Alternate

National Marine Fisheries Service

Jennifer Boyce/Primary

Vacant/Alternate

National Park Service

Craig Kenkel/Primary

Ben Becker/Alternate

U.S. Coast Guard

LT Chris Bell /Primary

LT Lelea Lingo/Alternate

U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service

Chris Barr/Primary

Gerry McChesney/Alternate

Channel Islands National Marine Sanctuary

Chris Mobley/Primary

Mike Murray/Alternate

Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary

Lisa Wooninck/Primary

Dawn Hayes/Alternate

SANCTUARY SUPERINTENDENT

Maria Brown, Superintendent, Greater

Farallones National Marine Sanctuary, Cordell

Bank National Marine Sanctuary

Brian Johnson, Deputy Superintendent, Greater

Farallones National Marine Sanctuary, Cordell

Bank National Marine Sanctuary