Resolution of the Greater Farallones National Marine Sanctuary Advisory Council (SAC)

RESOLUTION to submit the following three comments to Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary (MBNMS) on their Draft Management Plan

After hearing a presentation from MBNMS Superintendent Paul Michel on proposed changes to the MBNMS Management Plan at its virtual meeting on August 24, 2020, the SAC voted to submit the following comments on the Draft Management Plan (DMP).

The SAC:

1) Recommends that MBNMS more thoroughly clarify the definitions of clean dredged material and harmful matter in regard to beach restoration projects and sediment management;

2) Recommends that it should be noted in the MBNMS Management Plan that suitable dredge materials for beach restoration are available from other harbors and other dredge sources, as not tdimit the sources to the four sites mentioned in the DMP; and

3) Reiterates its previous recommendation (attached) to close personal motorized watercraft use zone at Pillar Point in MBNMS, but also supports more study and assessment going forward to evaluate the zone.

Attachments:

Final comment letter to MBNMS submitted on behalf of the SAC Attachments: 2018 and 2019 SAC Resolutions regarding MBNMS MPWC Zones 1 and 5

cc:

Maria Brown, Greater Farallones National Marine Sanctuary Superintendent Paul Michel, Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary Superintendent William Douros, Office of National Marine Sanctuaries, West Coast Regional Director

This resolution was passed with majority vote by a quorum of primary members (or alternate members serving in place of primary members) at a public meeting on August 24, 2020 held via Google Meet. SAC discussion regarding this resolution can be found in Meeting Highlights documentation at <u>https://farallones.noaa.gov/</u>manage/sac_meetings.html.

The council is an advisory body to the sanctuary superintendent. The opinions and findings of this letter/ publication do not necessarily reflect the position of the sanctuary and the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration.

NON-GOVERNMENT SEATS

Commercial Fishing Barbara Emley (Secretary)/Primary Sarah Bates/Alternate

<u>Community-at-Large San Francisco/San Mateo</u> Joe Fitting/Primary Kris Lannin Liang/Alternate

<u>Community-at-Large Marin</u> Dominique Richard (Chair)/Primary George Clyde/Alternate

<u>Community at-Large Mendocino/Sonoma</u> Cea Higgins/Primary Nancy Trissel/Alternate

Conservation Richard Charter/Primary Bruce Bowser/Primary Francesca Koe/Alternate Kathi George/Alternate

Education Bibit Traut /Primary Vacant/Alternate

Maritime Activities - Commercial John Berge/Primary Julian Rose/Alternate

Maritime Activities - Recreation Abby Mohan (Vice Chair)/Primary Joshua Russo/Alternate

Research John Largier/Primary Jaime Jahncke/Alternate

Youth Ezra Bergson-Michelson/Primary Owen Youngquist/Alternate

GOVERNMENT SEATS

<u>California Department of Natural Resources</u> Mark Gold/Primary Michael Esgro/Alternate

National Marine Fisheries Service Jennifer Boyce/Primary Vacant/Alternate

National Park Service Cicely Muldoon/Primary Ben Becker/Alternate

U.S. Coast Guard LCDR Lee Crusius/Primary LT Jacob Joseph/Alternate

U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Chris Barr/Primary Gerry McChesney/Alternate

Channel Islands National Marine Sanctuary Chris Mobley/Primary Mike Murray/Alternate

Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary Paul Michel/Primary Dawn Hayes/Alternate

Cordell Bank National Marine Sanctuary Dan Howard/Primary Michael Carver/Alternate

SANCTUARY SUPERINTENDENT Maria Brown, Superintendent Brian Johnson, Deputy Superintendent

The council is an advisory body to the sanctuary superintendent. The opinions and findings of this letter/publication do not necessarily reflect the position of the sanctuary and the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration.