

GREATER FARALLONES and MONTEREY BAY NATIONAL MARINE SANCTUARIES JOINT ADVISORY COUNCIL

MEETING

FINAL AGENDA

Half Moon Bay Yacht Club 214 Princeton Ave. Half Moon Bay, CA 94019 Wednesday August 19, 2015



Time	Topic	Lead
8:45	Coffee and Sign In	
9:00	Call to Order/Roll Call Review Agenda Swear-in New Council Members (GFNMS) Approve GFNMS Advisory Council Draft Minutes from May 20th, 2015 Meeting Approve MBNMS Advisory Council Draft Minutes from	John Largier/ GFNMS AC Chair; P.J. Webb/MBNMS AC Chair
9:15	June 19 th , 2015 Meeting GFNMS Superintendent's Report - ACCESS update	Maria Brown/GFNMS
	Permits updateExpansion updateTomales Bay update	
9:30	MBNMS Superintendent's Report	Paul Michel/MBNMS
9:45	Public Comment	
10:00	Presentation on the Ocean Guardian Program	Seaberry Nachbar/MBNMS
10:15	Presentation on Whales and Vulnerability to Ship Strikes	Angela Szesciorka/Moss Landing Marine Labs
11:00	BREAK	
11:05	MBNMS Management Plan Review and Condition Report	Paul Michel/MBNMS Dawn Hayes/MBNMS
12:30	LUNCH	
1:30	Advisory Councils' Roles in MBNMS Management Plan Review - Next steps/timeline - Preliminary List of Issues:	Maria Brown, GFNMS Paul Michel, MBNMS P.J. Webb/MBNMS AC Chair
2:30	BREAK	
2:45	Member Reports	
4:00	ADJOURN	

The Advisory Councils may take action on any of the above items on the agenda. Times of agenda items are subject to change. Public comment period will remain as advertised.

UPCOMING GFNMS AC Events

New Member Orientation, TBD September 2015

October 14th, 2015 SAC Retreat: Tour of the Northern Management Area

November 18, 2015: AC Meeting at the San Francisco Zoo

UPCOMING MBNMS AC Events

September 2015: Management Plan scoping meeting, dates TBD

October 23, 2015: SAC Meeting in Cambria, CA December 11, 2015: SAC Meeting in Monterey, CA

Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary Advisory Council

NON-GOVERNMENTAL MEMBERS

Agriculture	
Mr. Prin	Kirk Schmidt

Ms. Kris Beal Alternate

Business/Industry

Ms. Jessica Grigsby Primary

Ms. Krista Hammond

Alternate

Commercial Fishing

Ms. Kathy Fosmark Primary

Captain Jim Moser

Alternate

Conservation

Dr. Geoffrey Shester, Ph.D. Primary

Ms. Letise LaFeir

Alternate

Diving

Mr. Brian Nelson Primary

Mr. Philip Sammet

Alternate

Education

Ms. Elizabeth (Tucker) Hirsch Alternate

Ms. Amity Sandage

Alternate

Recreation

Mr. Gary Pezzi Primary & Vice Chair Mr. Barton Selby

Alternate

Recreational Fishing

Mr. Richard Hughett Primary

Mr. Robert Chatham

Mr. Robert Massaro

Alternate

Research

Dr. James Lindholm, Ph.D.

Dr. John Hunt, Ph.D. Alternate

Primary

Tourism

Mr. Michael Bekker Primary

Alternate

At-Large

Ms. Margaret Webb Primary & Chair

Mr. Dan Haifley Primary & Secretary

Mr. James Panetta

Primary

Ms. Cynthia Mathews

Primary

Mr. Gary Hoffmann

Alternate

GOVERNMENTAL MEMBERS

AMBAG

Mr. Edwin Smith

Primary

Mr. Bruce McPherson

Alternate

CA Coastal Commission

Mr. Dan Carl Primary Ms. Tami Grove Alternate

CA Dept of Fish and Wildlife

Mr. Paul N. Reilly

Primary

Deb Wilson-Vandenberg

Alternate

CA EPA

Dr. Maria de la Paz Carpio-Obeso

Primary

Ms. Lisa McCann

Alternate

CA Resources Agency

Ms. Catherine Kuhlman

Ms. Cyndi Dawson Alternate

Primary A

CA State Parks

Mr. Mat Fuzie Primary Mr. Nick Franco Alternate

Harbors

Mr. Steve Scheiblauer

Primary

Ms. Linda G. McIntyre, Esq.

Alternate

Mr. Peter Grenell

Alternate

Ms. Lisa Ekers Alternate

TOP

Non-Voting Members

Primary

Channel Islands NMS
Mr. Chris Mobley

Mr. Michael Murray

Alternate

Cordell Bank NMS

Mr. Dan Howard Primary Mr. Michael Carver

Alternate

Elkhorn Slough NERR	
Mr. Dave Feliz Primary	
Greater Farallones NMS	
Ms. Maria Brown Primary	Mr. Brian Johnson Alternate
Monterey Bay NMS	
Mr. Paul Michel Primary	Ms. Dawn Hayes Alternate
National Marine Fisheries Service	
Dr. Steven Lindley <i>Primary</i>	Dr. Steven Bograd Alternate
U.S. Coast Guard	
LT Shannon Anthony Primary	LCDR Joe Giammanco Alternate

Greater Farallones National Marine Sanctuary Advisory Council

NON-GOVERNMENT SEATS

Community-at-Large San Francisco/San Mateo

Kellyx Nelson (Vice Chair)

Christy Walker

Alternate

Community-at-Large Marin and Sonoma Dominique M. Richard

Primary

George Clyde

Alternate

Conservation

Richard Charter

Primary

Jackie Dragon

Primary

Bruce Bowser

Alternate

Francesca Koe

Alternate

Education

Elizabeth Babcock

Primary

Bibit Traut

Alternate

Maritime Activities / Commercial Barbara Emley (Secretary)

Primary

John Berge

Alternate

Maritime Activities / Recreation

Joshua Russo

Primary

Abby Mohan

Alternate

Research

John Largier (Chair)

Primary

Jaime Jahncke

Alternate

GOVERNMENT SEATS

California Department of Natural Resources **Deputy Secretary Catherine Kuhlman**

Primary

Jennifer Phillips

Alternate

National Marine Fisheries Service

Patrick Rutten

Primary

Lisa Van Atta

Alternate

National Park Service

Cicely Muldoon

Primary

Frank Dean

Alternate

U.S. Coast Guard

LT Joe Giammanco

Primary

LT Shannon Anthony

Alternate

U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service

Anne Morkill

Primary

Gerry McChesney

Alternate

Channel Islands National Marine Sanctuary

Chris Mobley

Primary

Mike Murray

Alternate

Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary

Paul Michel

Karen Grimmer

Alternate

Cordell Bank National Marine Sanctuary

Dan Howard

Primary

Michael Carver

Alternate